German Democratic Republic: National People's Army Medal of Merit

Verdienstmedaille der Nationalen Volksarmee

Ribbon: Red with narrow black, red and yellow edges and a central stripe depending on grade.

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal

Instituted: 1 June 1956.

Awarded: For exemplary service in the National People's Army. This included the army, navy, and air force of the DDR.

Grades: 3 (Gold, Silver or Bronze). Awards were complex, partly based on rank held, partly on time in service and other awards held.

Gold Medal Gold Medal, Obverse Gold Medal, Reverse
Silver Medal Silver Medal, Obverse Silver Medal, Reverse
Bronze Medal Bronze Medal, Obverse Bronze Medal, Reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 22 October 2020