India: Indian Independence Medal 1947

Ribbon: Equal stripes of orange, white and green.

Instituted: October 1949 by King George VI.

Awarded: To all members of the Indian armed forces (including those rulers and State Forces of those "Princely" States that had acceded to India before 1 January 1948) who were serving on 15 August 1947, and to British service personnel who remained in India after Independence to assist in the reformulation of the armed forces of India after Partition and who were still serving on 1 January 1948.

Obverse Reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 11 August 2003