South Africa: Victory Medal

Ribbon: Double rainbow stripe.

Instituted: 1919.

Awarded: To South African military who had served in a theatre of operations between 5 August 1914 and 11 November 1918. Whilst the British version of the medal was awarded to all other Dominion and Empire troops, the South African government issued their own bilingual version in both English and Afrikaans.

Sorry - no picture of obverse Sorry - no picture of reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 19 September 2008