Spain: Saragossa Cross for First and Second Siege

Distinción "Zaragoza, Primer y Segundo Sitios"

Ribbon: Blue with a double red and yellow edge stripe.

Instituted: 25 March 1817.

Awarded: To those who had distinguished themselves in the defense of Saragossa in Aragon from 16 June to 14 August 1808 when the Spaniards under Don Jose De Palafox and Calvo di Rozas defeated the French troops under Marshal Lefebvre who were compelled to retreat to Pampeluna, and who also served during the second attack on the city in December 1808 when the Spanish were compelled to surrender on 20 February 1809.

Class 1
Class 1, Obverse Sorry - no picture of reverse
Class 2
Sorry - no picture of obverse Sorry - no picture of reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 21 February 2022