Spain: Order of Military Merit

Orden del Mérito Militar

Ribbon: White with a red central stripe and blue edges.

Instituted: 3 August 1864 by Queen Isabel II, revised 1931, 1936, 1942, 1970, 1977, 28 July 1995, and 1 August 2003.

Awarded: For acts of bravery, distinction, service or merit by members of the Armed Forces, or civilians in support of the military.

Grades: 2 (Grand Cross and Cross) in 4 Divisions (Red, Blue, Yellow, and White).

(War Service)
(Killed or wounded in service)
(Peacetime Merit)
Grand Cross
(for Generals)
Grand Cross, Obverse Grand Cross, Reverse
(for all other ranks)
Cross, Obverse Cross, Reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 27 September 2008